Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Christie tutors in Gaithersburg, MD

Christie H.

Private tutor in Gaithersburg, MD

5Christie H.

33 reviews

Education

University of Richmond - BS, Biology , University of Tennessee - PhD, Biomedical Sciences

Experience

I am a retired professor who wants to share my passion for science and math with students. I'm available to tutor algebra, arithmetic, elementary math, middle school math, geometry, anatomy, biology, chemistry, microbiology, physiology, and more. I received degrees from both the University of Richmond and the University of Tennessee, and I worked for years as a college professor and biology researcher. I have experience working with elementary school students, middle school students, and high school students. One of my favorite things about being a tutor is seeing that moment when a student finally gets something that they have been struggling with. As a tutor I help students reach these moments by taking complex concepts and presenting them in new, simplified ways. I understand that every student learns differently, and I find the teaching methods and techniques that work best for each of my students. If a student learns best through visuals, I will present them with visual aides. If they learn best by listening, I will patiently talk with them and explain the concepts we are working on. I create a tutoring environment in which my students feel comfortable asking questions and engaging with the subject material. When I'm not tutoring I enjoy gardening, playing tennis, reading interesting books, sewing, and cooking delicious food. 

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Gardening, Cooking, Tennis, Reading, Sewing

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!