Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Ellie tutors in Gaithersburg, MD

Ellie W.

Private tutor in Gaithersburg, MD

Education

Sophomore student at Montgomery College Rockville, transferring to University of Maryland, Baltimore Campus for their Social Work program. I intend to earn both my Bachelors and Masters degree in Social Work.

Experience

I am currently a tutor at the Disability Support Services Center at Montgomery College. I am a Level I College Reading & Learning Association certified tutor. I am working towards Level II certification and will have attained it by the end of the current semester. My freshman year at Montgomery College I was a member of the exclusive 25 member Montgomery Scholars Program for the humanities. This semester I am enrolled in Environmental Biology, General Biology, Sociology, and Political Science. During my time at Montgomery College I have taken the following classes: English 101 and 102 Psychology 102, 203, 204 Intro to World Lit Honors World History 1500-Present Honors World Music Honors Philosophy 201 Honors Anthropology 101 Honors Criminal Justice 110 Statistics My SAT score was 1990. (Math: 620, Writing: 620, Reading 750). This score places me approximately in the 93rd percentile nationally for students who have taken the SAT test. I am very friendly and approachable. My tutoring approach focuses on listening to my tutees during my sessions and asking questions to draw out their input and knowledge. I believe it is important to avoid stifling a student's voice and instead encourage them to develop their thoughts. I want all my students to be able to master the skills they need so they feel confident in their abilities in the future. I love watching students conquer problems and become proficient in the concepts they are being taught.

Availability

Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 20 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I am an Irish Korean mix and I love to play the piano, read, and drink coffee! I adore vocabulary and word etymology. Someday I hope to be fluent in Spanish, French, and Persian. I also play volleyball for Montgomery College so I am very familiar with the challenges that a student athlete faces during the school semester and sports season.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!